Book Review, “A Voice in the Wind,” Francine Rivers author

A Voice in the Wind, 20th Anniversary Edition, is the first book in the Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers.  This special edition includes not only the story, but also a color map, an illustrated glossary, and a reading group guide.  The well-told, dramatic story intertwines the stories of Hadassah, Marcus, Julia, and Atretes with the greatest of skill.

Hadassah, a young Christian girl in Jerusalem, endures the death of her entire family as the city is overtaken by Roman soldiers.  Her subsequent life as a slave leads her to Rome, where she becomes slave to Julia, the young daughter of a wealthy Roman family. Hadassah struggles with sharing her faith with those around her, though they think she is Jewish, as well as her feelings for Marcus, Julia’s older brother.  Julia struggles with two difficult marriages, leaving her wanting only pleasure, and becomes obsessed with Atretes, a German prisoner become gladiator.  Marcus struggles with his attraction to Hadassah and his conflict with her steadfast faith, as well as his responsibilities to his sister.

As I began reading this book, I was somewhat distressed by the battle descriptions in the beginning.  They were a bit too detailed for my liking.  But as I continued, the story became so compelling that I could not put it down.  This is an excellent story.  I would recommend it for older teens and adults, as some of the content is more adult in nature.


I was provided this book by the publisher and was not required give a positive review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s