Book Review, “House of Mercy,” Erin Healy author

House of Mercy, by Erin Healy, teaches the reader to extend mercy to those around them, even if it is undeserved, just as God extends mercy toward us when we do not deserve it.

Beth Borzoi begins the story with a huge mistake, stealing a valuable saddle.  She has good intentions, thinking the saddle could be sold to aid some friends, but she complicates matters by taking a joy ride on a horse that does not belong to her, a horse that must be put down when she has an accident on it.  With her family’s land in jeopardy due to a law suit, her father’s death in the middle of it all, her mother’s and brother’s anger, Beth sets off on horseback to find her grandfather, a man she has never met.  She follows a wolf, Mercy, toward her grandfather’s home, going through several hazardous situations in the process.

This story was difficult for me in the beginning.  As I continued to read, however, the myriad of story lines began to come together to make more sense.  I was never quite sure of the role of the wolf, if he was real or spiritual, and felt like everything was left hanging at the end.

All in all, I enjoyed this book.  It was well-written, and I would recommend it to those that have enjoyed Erin Healy’s books in the past.

Kara

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book Review, “House of Mercy,” Erin Healy author

  1. erinhealy

    Kara, thanks very much for taking the time to read and post about my book. I really appreciate your assessment of it. You’re not the only one to react the way you did about the ending; for the curious, I talk about that a little on my blog here: http://bit.ly/Po2uBs Thanks again! EH

Leave a Reply

