Book Review, “Beloved Enemy,” Al Lacy author

Beloved Enemy, the first book in the Battles of Destiny series by Al Lacy, tells the story of the beginning of the Civil War and its effect on the people of the time.  It portrays the Lincoln family and several of the President’s choices as well as several other historical figures of the period.

Jenny Jordan, daughter of the famous Mexican War hero Jeffrey Jordan, is caught between a rock and a hard place when her father organizes a spy ring for the South as the Civil War begins.  She is drawn further into this predicament when she meets and falls in love with Union officer Buck Brownell.  When she is forced to deliver a message for the spy ring and caught by Buck’s unit, facing immediate death, Buck is horrified at the thought of having to order her execution.

I found this story charming, as I found myself hoping that Buck would find a way to spare Jenny’s life and that the two of them would be able to find a life together.  However, it was difficult to follow the story through the many pages of history.  At times, I felt as if I were reading a history book instead of a fictional novel.

I have read other book by Al Lacy and enjoyed them very much, but I can only recommend this one to those who truly enjoy the history part of historical fiction.

Kara

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from  the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

