Book Review, “The Wedding Dress,” Rachel Hauck author

The Wedding Dress, by Rachel Hauck, is a charming story.  It is set in Birmingham, Alabama, in the present day, but it includes the stories of four different brides beginning in 1912.  I found it an original approach to including history in the story.

Charlotte Malone is engaged to marry Tim Rose, but neither of them really feels excited about planning the wedding.  She attends an auction one day and ends up buying an old trunk with the lock welded shut. When she finally decides to have the lock opened, she finds an old wedding dress and begins to search for clues to its origin.  The clues lead her to the stories of three women who wore the dress, only to find out that the original owner is the great-grandmother she never knew she had!

I very much enjoyed this book.  The characters were well-developed and believable.  I appreciated that they attended church regularly, even when their lives were in turmoil.  I also appreciated the fact that they were serious about abstinence until they were married.  I would not hesitate to recommend this book.

Kara

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Book Review, “The Wedding Dress,” Rachel Hauck author

  1. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This post posted at this site is really good.

  2. I’m not sure why but this website is loading very slow for
    me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a
    problem on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  3. I think this is among the most significant info for me.

    And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really excellent :
    D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

