Book Review, “The Voice New Testment: Step Into the Story of Scripture,” by Ecclesia Bible Society

The Voice New Testament: Step Into the Story of Scripture, by Ecclesia Bible Society, is an interesting interpretation of the Bible.  It is the result of a collaborative effort of  artists, musicians, editors, writers, and scholars.

The writers of this version of the Bible have attempted to present the scriptures in a way that is extremely simplified, in order for all readers to understand. While I appreciate the modernization of some words, I felt that the scriptures were over explained, as if I were not capable of determining the meaning for myself.

For example, Matthew  1:20 is written as follows: “Joseph, son of David, do not be afraid to wed Mary and bring her into you home and family as your wife. She did not  sneak off and sleep with someone else—rather, she conceived the baby she now carries through the miraculous wonderworking of the Holy Spirit.”  The writers added the italics to show the words that were not included in the original text, but were added to help the readers understand it.  Matthew 3:17 says, “This is My Son, whom I love; this is the Apple of My eye; with Him I am well pleased.”  I find the italicized print in both of these verses unnecessary and a little condescending.

In addition, I did not appreciate the screenplay format used when people are speaking.  I would rather the writers just used the traditional format.  I did, however, feel that some of the additional information included explaining certain historical facts was helpful.

I can see the usefulness of a variety of versions of the Bible, especially for the new Christian.  I cannot in good conscience, however, recommend this one.

Kara

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from  the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review, “The Voice New Testment: Step Into the Story of Scripture,” by Ecclesia Bible Society

  1. PJ

    Is the reason that you can not recommend this version because it is oversimplified? If that is the only reason would this be good for a new Christian or for someone who never read the bible?

    • I do not feel that this would be a good version for new Christians to begin with. The extra words added in italics that are not a part of the original text might be confusing for people just learning the Bible, especially if they were going to memorize any of the scriptures. There are enough other versions out that can be simply understood by new Christians and have not added words to the text. Also, the change in certain words is questionable. For examply, John 1:1 uses the Voice instead of the Word, a huge difference to me.

Leave a Reply

